How I could Knit...

technically this shot is from 1969, close enough to the 7Os and of course being 17, I was single… fairisle vests were all the rage in the late 6Os… so I managed to find a vintage pattern leaflet with a couple of knitting patterns for boys jumpers…. My mum taught me how to knit and crochet when I was a little girl, thanks mum!.. come to think of it, we also got taught to knit and embroider  in primary school, at least the rudiments  …. I think most little girls learned how to knit in the 5Os & 6Os.

I think it took me quite a long time to finish it, but voila!!!  This is a photoedit that I posted on Pinteret (how do you link WordPress to Pinterest???) I will post the original colour photo when I find it… oh yes, this was definitely my TWIGGY phase..

Like the stretch lace shirt?

2013... my fairisle vest shrank and felted through the years (46 years YIKES!).  I think my first baby boy might have worn it a bit, but it got too stiff!  so now it is on my big baby Kewpie doll.....

2013... my fairisle vest shrank and felted itself through the years (46 years YIKES!). I think my first baby boy might have worn it a bit, but it got too stiff!  So now it is on my big baby Kewpie doll that I found in the 90s at an odd Oriental shop in Chinatown TO… it was the only one they had…..I had 5 kids at that time, but I secretly bought Kewpie just for me…

Leave a Reply

